Student Education Group

Faculty Advisor - Dr. Christa Zehle
Staff Liaison - Leigh Ann Holterman

The Student Education Group is comprised of students dedicated to and actively involved in the improvement of the medical school curriculum. Representatives from each class meet once a month with the Interim Senior Associate Dean of Medical Education, Dr. Christa Zehle, to discuss a variety of issues pertaining to the student experience within the Vermont Integrated Curriculum (VIC). The group’s responsibility is to act as a liaison with faculty to provide a unified student point of view, and to appropriately bring pertinent educational issues to the attention of faculty and course directors. SEG is charged with reviewing course evaluations written by students at the close of each Foundations course and presenting that data to the Foundations Committee, which oversees the pre-clinical portion of the curriculum.

If you have any questions, concerns, or suggestions,
please either let one of your SEG Representatives know or email Megan Boyer.

Highlights June 2019 Meeting:

  • How SEG’s new role in the evaluation process will continue to provide the student voice
  • Updates from the Social Justice Coalition, Foundations Committee, Clerkship Committee, and the Active Learning Task Force

Highlights May 2019 Meeting:

  • The Clinical Skills Team’s goals for preparing students for Clerkship and STEP 2 CS
  • A proposal to make community service part of the curriculum
  • Gathering feedback on Osmosis usage from current students
  • Updates from the Social Justice Coalition and the Communications Team

Highlights April 2019 Meeting:

  • A review of suggestions and decisions made at the March SEG retreat
  • Proposed changes to SEG’s involvement in the course evaluation process
  • Updates from the Social Justice Coalition

Highlights March 2019 Meeting:

  • Dr. Gupta’s plans for the Neural Science course as the new course director
  • A review of by-law revisions to be addressed during the March retreat
  • Updates on planning for SEG’s March retreat

Minutes Archive


Class Representatives

Class of 2019

Chris Bernard
Liz Carson
Laura Director
Charlotte Hastings
Lawrence Leung
Marc Vecchio

Class of 2020

Hanna Mathers
Daniel De Los Santos
Chad Serels
Ethan Witt

Class of 2021

Audrea Bose
Sidney Hilker
Flora Liu
Sienna Searles

Class of 2022

Megan Boyer
Maggie Carey
Kelly Chan
Rachel Harrison