Gender Equity Award Descriptions


Taking place during Women’s History Month in March, the Celebration of Gender Equity with its concommitant Annual Gender Equity Awards and Lecture serves multiple purposes in academic medicine.  Not only does it call out the achievements and contributions of individuals, but it also broadcasts the individual's presence to a wider audience, is noted on their CV, and is a signifier of the reputation of the individual which helps in the promotion process.

Gender Equity Champion Award 

Equity and inclusion are inextricably linked to the UVM Larner College of Medicine’s mission of education, research and patient care. In recognition of that mission, many College faculty, staff, students and trainees are actively engaged in championing equity and inclusion in multiple local, regional and global settings. This award recognizes Larner College of Medicine community members— faculty, staff, and students —who have demonstrated outstanding commitment and service to the advancement of women, transgender, and gender diverse people beyond the scope of their job, area of research, or training. 

If more than one exceptional nomination is received in a single year, the selection committee reserves the right to award separate faculty, staff, and student honors.


2024 Awardee: Jennifer Hall, D.O.; Neeki Parsa, B.A., MS3


Gender Equity Outstanding Achievement in Medicine and Science Award

This award will be given to a woman, transgender, or gender diverse faculty member within the Larner College of Medicine who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in medicine and science through research, education or service. Additionally, this
individual must be recognized at a national and/or international level for their scientific/medical achievements and serve as a role model to women, transgender, and gender diverse community members at the Larner College of Medicine. Finally, awardees will have demonstrated a commitment to advancing equity and inclusion for women, transgender, and gender diverse community members.


2024 Awardee: Sarah Schlein M.D.


Polaris Award:  Gender Equity Outstanding Mentorship Award

Polaris, or the North Star, is anchored at due north while the remainder of the northern sky rotates around it and serves as a beacon and directional point for those finding their way on a journey. The Polaris Award honors a Larner College of Medicine faculty or
staff member who provides outstanding formal or informal mentorship for Larner College of Medicine women, transgender, and gender diverse people.

A mentor is defined as an individual who shares knowledge and serves as an experienced and trusted advisor, teacher, collaborator, and/or advocate.


2024 Awardee: Rebecca Wilcox, M.D.


The Rising Star Award: Gender Equity Emerging Professional Award

This award recognizes a woman, transgender, or gender diverse faculty or staff member at the Larner College of Medicine who is in the early stage of their career. The awardee demonstrates excellence in contributions to students, colleagues, and/or the institution
in the areas of gender equity and inclusion through service, program development, teaching, research or beyond. The awardee also shows the promise for future contributions and leadership in their field as well as in achieving goals for the
advancement of diversity, equity, and inclusion.


2023 Awardee: Anja Jokela, M.D.; Karine Sahakyan, M.D.

Eligibility Requirements

All nominees for LCOM Gender Equity Awards must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Be a UVM LCOM faculty or staff, or a student, a resident, or a postdoctoral scholar at the time of nomination.
  • Have exhibited and sustained efforts toward engaging in equity and inclusion as delineated in the "Selection Criteria."

We encourage individual nominations, not groups.

Nomination Process and Required Materials

1. Nomination Form be completed by the nominator with basic information about the nominee and nominator.

2. Narrative of less than 250 words – to be completed by the nominator citing specific examples of the nominee's contributions as related to the "Selection Criteria". 

Submission of Materials

All materials must be submitted via the online form provided. We do not accept other formats such as emails or letters. 



All nomination materials must be submitted by 5 p.m. on Monday, February 12, 2024. Members of the Gender Equity Steering Committee will review all nominations and collectively determine up to three finalists for each award. The finalist nominations will be submitted to the Associate Dean for Diversity & Inclusion and the Dean of the College of Medicine for final review and selection.



Please email Dr. Anne Dougherty

Past Gender Equity Award Winners

Celebration of Gender Equity
(from left: Dean Rick Page, Gov. Madeline Kunin, L.E. Faricy, Dr. Ramsey Herrington,
Dr. Debra Leonard, Dr. Bill Pendelbury, Dr. Anne Dougherty, Dr. Margaret Tandoh)

Gender Equity Outstanding Achievement in Medicine and Science Award 

2023: Stacey Sigmon, Ph.D.

2022: Beth Kirkpatrick, M.D.

2021:  Elizabeth Bonney, M.D., M.P.H.

2020: Mary Cushman, M.D., M.Sc.

Polaris Award for Outstanding Mentorship 

2023: Frances Carr, Ph.D.

2022: Isabelle Dejardins, M.D.

2021: Melissa Davidson, M.D.

2020: Debra Leonard, M.D., Ph.D.

Gender Equity Champion Award 

2023: Nina Feinberg, MS4; Bridget Marroquin, M.D.

2022: Eli Goldberg, M.D.

2021: Pam Gibson, M.D.; Stellar Levy, M.S.

2020: Ramsey Herrington, M.D.

Rising Star Emerging Professional Award 

2023: Sherrie Khadanga, M.D.

2022: Joanna Conant, M.D.

2021: Katie Wells, M.D., M.P.H.

2020: Lauren Elizabeth (L.E.) Faricy, M.D., Assistant Professor of Pediatrics