Recent News

Dixon Appointed Chair of the Department of Medicine

September 7, 2023 by Angela Ferrante

Anne Dixon, M.A, B.M.B.Ch., Professor of Medicine, has been appointed Chair of the Department of Medicine in the Larner College of Medicine at the University of Vermont.

Dr. Anne Dixon, Chair of the Department of Medicine

Anne Dixon, M.A, B.M.B.Ch., Professor of Medicine, has been appointed Chair of the Department of Medicine in the Larner College of Medicine at the University of Vermont. Dixon has been serving as Interim Chair since October 2022. This was announced on September 6, 2023, by Richard L. Page, M.D., dean of the College and Jason Sanders, M.D., M.B.A., senior associate dean for clinical affairs and president and CEO of the UVM Health Network Medical Group. She has succeeded Polly Parsons, M.D., who was chair from 2006-2022.

Dixon holds an M.A. from the University of Cambridge, England, and earned her medical degree from the University of Oxford, England. Her training includes an internal medicine residency at Johns Hopkins University and a pulmonary and critical care fellowship at the University of Washington.

A member of the faculty at UVM since 2001, Dixon has served as Chief of the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine since 2009. She is also director of the Vermont Lung Center.

“We are fortunate to have such an accomplished clinical and research leader at the helm of the Department of Medicine guiding its faculty, staff, and learners. After a national search that attracted many excellent candidates, Dr. Dixon emerged as the right person to lead our largest department,” stated Dean of the Larner College of Medicine at UVM Richard L. Page, M.D.

The search committee was led by Professor and Chair of the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Vermont College of Medicine and Chief of Pediatrics at Vermont Children’s Hospital Lewis First, M.D., M.S., and Professor and Director of Reproductive Science Research at the University of Vermont Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences Elizabeth Bonney, M.D., M.P.H.

“Dr. Dixon has served with distinction as Interim Chair, and will lead our teams across the UVM Health Network in Vermont and New York to expand patient access, advance clinical trials, and improve population health,” said President and CEO of the UVM Health Network Medical Group Jason Sanders, M.D.

A physician-scientist known internationally for her work in asthma and lung diseases related to obesity and metabolic dysfunction, Dixon has published 140 articles and continuous extramural research funding. She is a Fellow of the American Thoracic Society and currently chairs the Pulmonary Examination Committee for the American Board of Internal Medicine and serves on the Scientific Advisory Committee and Board of Directors for the American Lung Association.

Dr. Dixon has received a number of award and recognitions, including the UVM Health Network Medical Group’s Senior Investigator of the Year award in 2016, the American Thoracic Society Distinguished Achievement Award in 2021, and recognition as the Larner College of Medicine Research Laureate. Her contributions to asthma and allergy research were acknowledged with the Champion of the Asthma & Allergy Community Award from the New England Chapter of the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America in 2021. In 2022 she was recognized by UVM as a University Scholar.

Faculty Highlights

Jason Bates is the recipient of this year’s “ Solbert Permutt Trailblazer award in pulmonary physiology and medicine” awarded by the RSF assembly of the American Thoracic Society.

Anesthesiology October 2020 Magazine Cover

Recent cover of an article by Gabe Tharp (Anesthesia), including Jason Bates and Anne Dixon.