Residency & Fellowships  DSCF0516

Our residents participate in a four-year residency program. We currently offer four fellowship programs, each program admits one fellow annually.

Our anatomic and clinical pathology training programs are integrated, emphasizing the unified nature of the information developed and interpreted by pathologists. Much of this effort is focused on the care of individual patients.

Abundant opportunities are available for residents to participate in the department's research programs, which address problems of contemporary interest and importance.

Additionally, residents are actively engaged in the department's teaching programs. Indeed, a tradition of excellence in teaching at all levels is a cornerstone of the department's activities.

Visit the Graduate Medical Education programs, listed to the right, at The Robert Larner, M.D. College of Medicine at The University of Vermont / The University of Vermont Medical Center to learn more about the programs and how to apply.

Welcome to our incoming PGY-1 Class of Residents

Jennifer Bloomer- Lincoln Memorial University- DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine.

Nadiya Bradley- Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine.

Mitchell Guerin- University of California, Davis, School of Medicine.

Alayna Westcom- Robert Larner, M.D., College of Medicine at the University of Vermont.

(pictured below left to right- Jennifer, Nadiya, Mitchell, & Alayna)

 Jennifer BloomerNadiya BradleyMitchell GuerinAlayna Westcom

P&LM residents continue to obtain outstanding fellowships

We recognize and appreciate the role of our department’s faculty and staff in the education of our trainees and the privilege of being a part of each resident’s educational journey. Congratulations to all! Residents entering Fellowships next year.

Karamatullah Danyal, M.D., PhD.,- Dermatopathology, University of Vermont Medical Center.

Linda Logan, D.O.,- Surgical Pathology, University of Vermont Medical Center.

Michael Madrid, M.D., M.S.,- Gastrointestinal and Liver Pathology, Brown University, Providence, RI.

Rosemary Mattaino, D.O., M.S.,- Cytopathology, University of Vermont Medical Center.

Resident Alumni


  • Kayla Elliot, M.D., Fellowship- Gastrointestinal/Liver Pathology, Brigham and Women's Hospital
  • William Humphrey, M.D., Fellowship- Neuropathology, Mayo Clinic
  • Thomas Koster, D.O., Fellowship- Forensic Pathology, Miami-Dade County Medical Examiner
  • Brianna Waller, M.D., Fellowship- Hematopathology, Brigham and Women's Hospital


  • Matthew Dinehart, M.D., Dermatopathology, University of Vermont Medical Center
  • Liam Donnelly, M.D., Hematopathology, Memorial Sloan Kettering, Molecular Pathology, Memorial Sloan Kettering
  • Frederick Eyerer, M.D., Surgical Pathology, Stanford University
  • Nicole Mendelson, M.D., Gastrointestinal/Liver Pathology, Weill Cornell, Surgical Pathology, Mayo Clinic
  • Jonathan Wilcock, M.D., Microbiology, Mayo Clinic


  • Jeffrey Covington, M.D., Ph.D., Gastrointestinal, Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Noman Javed, M.D., Dermatopathology, University of Vermont Medical Center, Surgical Pathology, University of Vermont Medical Center
  • Casey Rankins, D.O., Hematopathology, University of Vermont Medical Center


  • Adina Bodolan, M.D., Surgical Pathology, University of Vermont Medical Center
  • Clayton LaValley, M.D., Hematopathology, University of Vermont Medical Center, Clinical Informatics, UC Davis Sacramento
  • Justin Rueckert, D.O., Forensci Pathology, Travis County Medical Examiner
  • Angela Theiss, M.D., University of Vermont Medical Center


  • Prajesh Adhikari, M.D., Hematopathology, University of Vermont Medical Center, Dermatopathology, University of Vermont Medical Center
  • Elaine Amoresano, M.D., Forensic Pathology, OCME and the University of Maryland School of Medicine
  • Ryan Coates, M.D., Gastrointestinal and Liver, University of Washington

    Follow this link to view past residents: Our Past Residents


Resident Highlights

Congratulations to all the residents that represented UVMMC at the 2024 USCAP conference in Baltimore, MD. Multiple residents presented posters; Dr. Rosemary Mattaino, PGY-4 (not pictured), with "Evaluation of a Limited Number of Histologic Levels in Prostate Needle Core Biopsies: Do Clinically Significant Cancer Parameters Go Undetected?" Dr. Doré Guptil, PGY-2, and Heather Giguere, Pathology Student Fellow, with "Long Term Outcome in a Case of Tetralogy of Fallot Surgically Treated with Palliative Shunts: Findings from an Adult Autopsy." Dr. Rae Nusapan, PGY-2, with "GATA3 Positive Spindle Cell Neoplasm Involving the Liver Diagnosed as Metastatic Sarcomatoid Chromophobe Renal Cell Carcinoma at Autopsy." Dr. Jesse Mostoller, PGY-2, Dr. Neel Hegde, PGY-1, and Dr. Nick Taylor, PGY-2 (not pictured), with "Unexpected Cardiac Amyloidosis: Demographics, Histology, Distribution and Clinical Significance: A Review of 15 Autopsy Cases."Great work everyone! UVM was well represented! (2024) USCAP 2024(pictured l-r: Doré Guptil, Rae Nusapan, Heather Giguere, Jesse Mostoller, & Neel Hegde)

We are excited to announce our new Chief Residents for 2024-2025, Dijana (Di) Poljak, M.D., and Nicholas (Nick) Halsett, M.D. During their residency, Drs. Poljak and Haslett have been resident advocates, serving on departmental committees to improve the educational experience. Drs. Poljak and Haslett will officially start April 1, 2024. We look forward to their leadership. We would also like to offer our sincerest thank you to our outgoing Chief Residents, Dr. Rosemary Mattaino, D.O., and Dr. Michael Madrid, M.D. and best wishes on their upcoming fellowships. Their leadership brought about many improvements to operations, curriculum, and recruitment. Both were models of professionalism and are highly regarded by peers and faculty as physician leaders. (2024)

Congratulations to our graduating resident trainees: Thomas Koster, M.D., Brianna Waller, M.D., Kayla Elliot, M.D., and William Humphrey, M.D., and to our graduating fellows: Matt Dinehart, M.D., dermatopathology fellow, and Noman Javed, M.D., surgical pathology fellow. We also congratulate our graduating student fellows: Kali Amoah, and Sarah Andoh. (2023)

We are excited to announce that Dr. Rosemary Mattaino and Dr. Michael Madrid will be the Chief Residents for the 2023-2024 academic year. Throughout their residency, Drs. Mattaino and Madrid have been resident advocates, serving on departmental committees to improve the educational experience of our residents. We also want to sincerely thank our outgoing Chief Residents, Dr. Kayla Elliot and Dr. Brianna Waller for their outstanding job. We are grateful for their time, energy, expertise, and strong leadership. We wish them well on their upcoming ABPath Certification exam and fellowships in Boston. (2023)

Past Resident Highlights