Welcome from Director Brian L. Sprague, PhD

Brian L. Sprague, PhD, DirectorThe mission of the Office of Health Promotion Research (OHPR) is to facilitate research on health promotion and disease prevention by addressing modifiable health risk factors, healthcare delivery strategies, and public policy. We lead and support studies using a wide variety of research methods, including observational, interventional, translational, and big data approaches.

OHPR-affiliated faculty come from a variety of UVM Departments, with expertise in epidemiology, health services research, social psychology, behavior change, clinical research, and biostatistics. OHPR staff have specific skills and experience in data collection, data cleaning, data management, survey methods, medical records linkage, medical records abstraction, data security, human subjects regulatory compliance, data use agreements, and grant preparation. 

OHPR collaborates with the UVM Cancer Center, the Northern New England Clinical & Translational Research Network, the UVM Health Services Research Center, the UVM Center on Rural Addiction, the Vermont Department of Health, in addition to numerous academic institutions nationally and globally. OHPR also provides opportunities for trainees in research, including undergraduates, medical students, residents, and fellows.

Brian L. Sprague, PhD


History of OHPR

The Office of Health Promotion Research was established within the UVM College of Medicine in the early 1980s.  Early research includes seminal studies of tobacco control, AIDS prevention, diabetes prevention, alcohol abuse, and breast cancer screening led by faculty members Roger H. Secker-Walker M.D., John K. Worden, Ph.D., Brian S. Flynn, Sc.D., Berta Geller, Ed.D., and Laura J. Solomon, Ph.D.

Awards and Accolades

2023 - UVM medical student, Amy Chang, awarded UVM Cancer Center Summer Research Fellowship

2022 - LCOM Outstanding Research Publication, OHPR trainee Serena Murphy

2021 - UVM medical student, Mikaela Mohardt, awarded UVM Cancer Center Summer Research Fellowship

2019 - Distinguished Academic Achievement Award, Donald Weaver, MD

2018-19 - Student intern, Sophie Mulrow, awarded 2nd place in UVM Student Employee of the year competition

2018 - LCOM Dean's Excellence in Research Award, Mid-Career Investigator, Dr. Brian L. Sprague, PhD

2018 - LCOM Dean's Excellence in Research Award, Rising Star New Investigator, Thomas Ahern, PhD

2018 - Department of Defense Patriot Award

2017 - 47th Annual Surgery Senior Major Scientific Program, 2nd place winner Jacqueline Wade

2016 - Inaugural Dean's Excellence in Research Award, Trainee Award for Outstanding Research Publication/Postdoctoral Fellows, Vicki Hart

1996 - C. Everett Koop Award