Committees and Advisory Boards

Internal Advisory Committee

Administrative leaders from NNE-CTR lead and partnering institutions comprise the Internal Advisory Committee. The committee meets with the Principal Investigators and Program Coordinators for the network each quarter to advise on all aspects of NNE-CTR and Administrative Core operations. Committee members review operations, policies and procedures, progress toward network goals, resource allocation, and communication effectiveness. Their experience leading large operational grant programs, and familiarity with both the goals of the NNE-CTR and the regional academic and medical landscape position the committee members to be trusted advisors for the network leadership. 

Internal Advisory Committee members:

  • Joan Boomsma, MD, MBA (MMC)
  • Scot Remick, MD (MMC)
  • Andrew Coburn, PhD (USM)
  • Patricia Prelock, PhD (UVM)
  • Thomas Peterson, MD (UVM)
  • Adam Atherly, PhD, MA (UVM)
  • Amy Deavitt (VT)
  • Robert Gramling, MD, DSc (UVM)

External Advisory Committee

The External Advisory Committee includes nationally recognized research institute leaders with specific expertise that is pertinent to our network. Through meetings twice per year, they will evaluate the overall program and provide strategic guidance and mentorship to the Program Directors. The committee will also approve pilot project funding recommendations. External Advisory Committee members:

  • Sergio Aguilar-Gaxiola (University of California, Davis)
  • Gordon Bernard, MD (Vanderbilt University)
  • Linda Cottler, PhD, MPH (University of Florida)
  • Sally Hodder, MD (West Virginia University)
  • Mark Levine, MD (Vermont Commissioner of Health)
  • Kenneth Pienta, MD (The Johns Hopkins University)
  • Jack Westfall MD, MPH (University of Colorado)

Participation in the Working Groups is open to all.  To be included in notices regarding upcoming meetings and notices of supplemental funding, contact Jennifer Smith, Administrative Coordinator (

Addiction Working Group

The Addiction Working Group was established in December 2017 with participants that include physicians, psychologists, social workers, public health professionals and laboratory-based, as well as behavioral investigators.  Expectations established at the initial meeting of the Addiction Working Group were to address initiatives, improvements and engagements; provide coordination, strategic planning and define complementary interests; publicize the existence/availability of funding mechanisms; and, optimally partner with resources within the NNE-CTR Network Cores in a manner that will maximize collaboration.  The following initiatives were established as priorities: opioid addiction policy; genetic and epigenetic biomarkers within the context of risk and treatment response; reward-based intervention; co-contributions of tobacco and opioid dependence; maternal and post-natal consequences/complications of addiction; and, unique considerations for adolescent and early adult addiction.

A Supplemental Grant titled, "Hospital Utilization for Opioid Overdose: A Community Engaged Multidisciplinary Approach to Measure the Impact of Policy Change and Inform Interventions", was awarded in September 2018.

Vermont Medicine Magazine "Inventing the Wheel"

VCBH Dec 2017 "Vermont Hub-and-Spoke Model of Care for Opioid Use Disorders: An Evaluation"

UVM article "UVM Receives $6.6 Million to Address Rural Addiction"

USM article "Two USM-led studies on rural tobacco use draw press attention"

Cancer Working Group

The Cancer Working Group held its first meeting on August 14, 2018.  Participants discussed potential initiatives, funding sources, and research resources, including those available through the CTR.

Community Advisory Board

The Community Advisory Board is in the process of forming and will hold its first meeting soon.