Excellence in research, education, clinical care and service

Our clinicians include teachers and  scientists in the specialty fields of cardiology, dermatology, endocrinology,  gastroenterology hepatology, hematology  oncology, hospitalist  medicine, infectious diseases, nephrology, primary care, pulmonary critical  care, and rheumatology. Not only are  individuals in these areas recognized as leaders in their respective fields,  the Department of Medicine as a whole is known nationally for its  contributions to clinical care, education, research, and service.


Doris B. Strader, MD  David J. Schneider, MD  Mercedes Rincón, Ph.D.Physician Recognition Project

We strive to recognize the unique talents and contributions of our faculty in clinical care, research, education, and service, with the goal of sharing that information with as many students, residents, fellows, faculty, staff, patients, visitors, prospective students and faculty and community members as possible. While six faculty members were selected for the pilot project, each of our faculty members deserve recognition for their achievements. We are pleased the project will expand across the Larner College of Medicine. The award-winning Faculty Showcase campaign is on display in the Larner College's Atrium.

Department News

Larner College of Medicine Faculty Inventions Recognized at Annual I2V Conference

April 8, 2019 by Jennifer Nachbur

More than a dozen Larner College of Medicine faculty and scientists were recognized during the awards portion of the 14th annual Invention to Venture (I2V) conference April 5, 2019.

Senior Associate Dean for Research Gordon Jensen, M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine Yvonne Janssen-Heininger, Ph.D., & V.P. for Research Richard Galbraith, M.D., Ph.D., at the 2019 I2V awards ceremony. (Photo: UVM Innovations)

More than a dozen Larner College of Medicine faculty and scientists were recognized during the awards portion of the 14th annual Invention to Venture (I2V) conference April 5 at the Davis Center at the University of Vermont. Hosted by the UVM Innovations office, the conference brings together academic researchers, students, entrepreneurs, business leaders and experts from across Vermont and New England to talk about how to protect, develop and finance ideas.

Kyle Clark, founder of South Burlington-based Beta Technologies, a two-year-old startup focused on building electric aircraft and recharging systems, was the keynote speaker.

Corine Farewell, DVM, director of UVM Innovations, presented the Awards Ceremony, in which Vice President for Research Richard Galbraith, Ph.D., participated.

Patent Award recipients included:

  • Victor May, Ph.D., professor of neurological sciences; Karen Braas, Ph.D., research associate professor of neurological sciences; Sayamwong E. Hammack, Ph.D., professor of psychological science; and Donna Toufexis, Ph.D., associate professor of psychological science for “Diagnostic and therapeutic methods and products related to anxiety disorders” (2 patents)
  • Mercedes Rincon, Ph.D., professor of medicine, and Tina Thornton, Ph.D., assistant professor of medicine, for “Methods and products relating to GSK3 beta regulation.”
  • Jason Botten, Ph.D., associate professor of medicine; Karen Lounsbury, Ph.D., professor of pharmacology; and Christopher Francklyn, Ph.D., professor of biochemistry for both “Methods and compounds for reducing threonyl-tRNA synthetase activity” and “Methods and compounds for increasing threonyl-tRNA synthetase activity.”
  • Albert van der Vliet, Ph.D., professor of pathology and laboratory science; David Earl Heppner, Ph.D.; and Karamatullah Danyal, Ph.D., Class of 2020 medical student, for “Covalent inhibitors of dual oxidase 1 (DUOX 1).”
  • Francklyn; Lounsbury; and Tamara Williams, Ph.D., for “Methods and compounds for diagnosing threonyl-RNA synthetase-associated diseases and conditions.”
  • Christopher Danforth, Ph.D., associate professor of mathematics and statistics; Kathleen Brummel-Ziedins, Ph.D., professor of biochemistry; Thomas Orfeo, Ph.D., assistant professor of biochemistry; Stephen Everse, Ph.D., associate professor of biochemistry; and Kenneth Mann, Ph.D., professor emeritus of biochemistry, for “Methods for dynamic visualization of clinical parameters over time.”

License Award recipients included:

  • Yvonne Janssen-Heininger, Ph.D., professor of pathology and laboratory medicine – license to Celdara Medical, LLC.
  • Markus Meyer, M.D., associate professor of medicine – license to Medtronic, Inc.
  • Mercedes Rincon, Ph.D., professor of medicine – license to EMD Millipore

Learn more about the 2019 I2V conference.

More News >>


Department of Medicine Meetings - Presentations



DOM Meeting - June 15, 2018

DOM Meeting - June 14, 2019