Early Career Research Awards

To date the CVRI has awarded $260K in pilot grants!

2024 Funding Opportunity Announcement
2024 Application
Submission Deadline - February 23
Award notice - May 1

Historical Research Awards

CVRI is broadly inclusive of investigators at UVM
d exists to foster cardiovascular research.

Give Now

Throughout all CVRI activities, we focus on developing the next generation of scientists and a significant portion of our resources goes to financial support of this critical activity.

News Spotlight

Upcoming Events!

May 8-10, 2024
Rising Star Visiting Professor
Antentor Hinton, Jr, PhD

May 20, 2024
Science Policy Panel
Hotel Vermont

Stay Connected w
ith CVRI
Join CVRI's mailing list to get the latest information, newsletter and events.

David Schneider Harry Dauerman

The CVRI seeks to highlight excellence in research and to foster the next generation of cardiovascular researchers.  As such, the CVRI Board of Directors has recently selected Harold Dauerman, MD for designation as CVRI Distinguished Investigator!
Image: David Schneider, MD, Harold Dauerman, MD

2023_09 Osama Harraz Bloomfield Professor in CV Research

Congratulations to Osama Harraz, PhD, Bloomfield Early Career Professor in Cardiovascular Research!
Image: Dean Richard Page, M.D., Osama Harraz Ph.D., Martin Bloomfield M.D., David Schneider M.D.

CVRI Support

Have a cardiovascular speaker you'd like to bring to campus?

Information on CVRI Co-Sponsorship of Cardiovascular Seminars can be found on the Application for Visiting Professor Funding.

Internal Grant or Biosketch Review

CVRI provides internal review of grant applications and biosketches to support cardiovascular research. E-mail CVRI for more information.  *NOTE: The request for internal review must be made at least 6 weeks before the submission deadline. Please include the funding mechanism to which you are applying for.

CVRI Travel Awards

CVRI travel awards are available to support trainees and junior investigators presenting abstracts at regional and national scientific meetings.  These competitive awards are for reimbursement of presentation-related expenses of up to $2,000 and offered on a limited rolling basis throughout the academic calendar year; more details can be found on the application for funding.

Published recently?

Share your citation for us to highlight your cardiovascular research!

Medical Student Opportunities

Complete the request for CVRI mentorship form  with your specific research interests and inquiry for current mentorship opportunities.  Be sure to review CVRI's Board of Directors,  Distinguished Investigators and Early Career Advisory Committee roster as a starting point for research interests.