Congrats to department graduate students receiving awards at the 2018 Dean’s Celebration of Excellence in Research

December 11, 2018 by Departmental Office of Molecular Physiology & Biophysics

The Dean’s Celebration of Research in Excellence occurred on Monday, October 29, 2018 and Tuesday, October 30, 2018.

Congrats to the following Oral Presentation winners from our department:

Alex Thompson for “Mutations in the Kinesin Motor Protein KIF22 Cause Defects in Skeletal Development.” Thompson’s mentor is UVM Assistant Professor of Molecular Physiology & Biophysics Jason Stumpff, Ph.D. (Winner – Junior Graduate Category)

Alisa Cario for “Understanding the link between Structure and Function of the Microtubule Associated Protein Tau using single molecule FRET.” Cario’s mentor is UVM Professor of Molecular Physiology & Biophysics and Director of Graduate and Postdoctoral Training Chris Berger, Ph.D. (Runner up – Junior Graduate Category)

Leslie Sepaniac for “Different Mechanisms of Micronucleus Formation and Impact to Genomic Stability.” Sepaniac’s mentor is Jason Stumpff, Ph.D. (Runner up  – Senior Graduate Category)

more info: