Research Committee Mission:

The Department of Medicine is at the forefront of research on both the university’s campus and hospital’s network. Research funding in FY2020, from over 200 individual awards, totaled nearly 17.5 million. Members of the department are active nationally and internationally and are recognized leaders in new scientific knowledge.


With faculty and staff representation from each Division/Center, the Research Committee is focused on facilitating an environment of innovation and collaboration for the department’s diverse interests. We strive to promote an atmosphere of discovery, collaboration, and mentorship across our campus and network in basic, clinical, translational, and commercial research. The deliverables of our work include the development and review of policies and procedures, creating pilot funding opportunities, and ensuring the dissemination of information throughout the department.


Research Committee Members 

Michael Toth Ph.D. (Vice Chair, Research)

Mary Cushman M.D., MSc (Vice Chair, Emerging Researchers

Melanie Bui, M.D., Ph.D. (Dermatology)

Adam Atherly, Ph.D. (General Internal Medicine)

Carrie Lyon, M.D. (Hospitalist Medicine)

Rick Solomon, M.D. (Nephrology)

Matthew Poynter, Ph.D. (Pulmonary)


Tina Mazuzan (Chair's Office)

Jay Gupta, Ph.D. (Endocrine)

Steven Lidofsky, M.D., Ph.D. (Gastroenterology and Hepatology)

Chris Huston, M.D. (Infectious Disease)

Bridget Carney(Pre-Award Office)

Amanda Kennedy, PharmD (Quality)

Michaelanne Rowen R.N. (Chair's Office)Charlie MacLean, M.D. (General Internal Medicine)Ralph Budd, M.D. (Immunobiology)Gretchen Argraves (Pre-Award Office)Allen Repp, M.D. (Quality)  


 Department of Medicine Research